The Beyond Baroque

Annual awards Dinner

This year's Annual Awards Dinner took place on Sunday, April 6, 2014 at the Church in Ocean Park in Santa Monica, California.
2014 Awards Dinner Announcement

The Beyond Baroque Annual Awards Dinner began in 2011 under the direction of the standing board president, Sherman Pearl, as a way to honor poets in the Los Angeles poetry community who have shined a light on the craft of poetry, both through their writing and through their efforts to draw attention to poetry as an art form. The board voted to have two distinct awards honoring two paths of service.

The George Drury Smith Award, named for the founder of Beyond Baroque, honors an outstanding achievement in poetry by a poet whose work has drawn attention to the art of poetry beyond the borders of Los Angeles.

The Distinguished Service Award was created to honor a local poet who has made long-term contributions to the poetry community in Los Angeles and is an outstanding poet in his own right. 

The awards are handed out at the Annual Awards Dinner at the Church in Ocean Park, in Santa Monica, California, each spring. The dinner is attended by over a hundred poets and fans of poetry and is open to the public. 


2011 David St. John
2012 Wanda Coleman
2013 Eloise Klein Healy


2011 S.A. Griffin
2012 Amélie Frank
2013 Mike Sonksen

For more information about our awards, contact

To purchase ads in the awards booklet, click here. Deadline is Friday, March 14th.